Project Groups

What are Groups?

A Stakeholder Group is a subset of related Stakeholders, for example: Senior Management, Customers, Project Team, etc.

Project on Demand offers the ability to define Stakeholder Groups and assign them to different Stakeholders.

Groups can be managed using Group Management that is accessible by clicking the Group Management button in the side menu of Project Maintenance or via the Open Group Management button in Edit Stakeholder.

How should they be used?

Usage of Groups within Project on Demand is as follows:

Project Management Process Step Action within Project on Demand
1 Identify and record a required Stakeholder Group. Create a new Group.
2 Assign Group to a Stakeholder. Assign Group to a Stakeholder via Edit Stakeholder.

Group Properties

Name Description Possible Values
Description Full description of the Group. Text.

Managing

Group Management can be used to Create, Edit, Import and Remove Groups.

The management child window can be accessed by clicking the Group Management button in the side menu of Project Maintenance or via the Open Group Management button in Edit Stakeholder.

Groups displayed are sorted in ascending order by Description.

Creating a new Group

Clicking on the New button will alter the displayed child window to include an area at the bottom so a new Group can be recorded.

Once all properties are set the new Group can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the new Group can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of creating a new Group the child window will revert back to it's normal state, a success message will display at the bottom of the child window and the newly created Group will be selected in the DataGrid.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will revert back to it's normal state and nothing will be saved.

Editing a Group

Selecting a Group and clicking on the Edit button will alter the displayed child window to include an area at the bottom so the Group can be edited. Alternatively the row can be double-clicked to perform the same action.

Once all necessary changes have been made the Group can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the Group can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of the editing process the child window will revert back to it's normal state and a success message will display at the bottom of the child window.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will revert back to it's normal state and any changes will be cancelled.

Removing a Group

Selecting the Group to remove and clicking on the Remove button will display a removal confirmation window. If Cancel is clicked the confirmation window will close and the Group will not be removed. If Yes is clicked the selected Group will be removed and a successful removal message will be displayed at the bottom of the child window.

Importing Groups

Clicking the Import button will flip the child window to display Import Groups.

In order to view and import Groups from another Project, a Project must be selected from the "Import from Project" drop-down at the top. The drop-down is populated with any Projects that have Groups defined.

Groups that have been checked in the Import column of the DataGrid will be Imported once the Import button is clicked. The Check All feature can be used to check all displayed Groups.

Upon successful import the child window will flip back around to display Group Management, a success message will be displayed at the bottom of the child window and the last of the newly imported Groups will be selected.