Project Responsibilities

What are Responsibilities?

A Responsibility is a component part of a Role which comprises of specific attributes that are required in order to deliver the project. The Role holder is therefore accountable for all of the Responsibilities that associated to the Role.

Project on Demand offers the ability to define the Responsibilities associated with a Project and group these Responsibilities within Roles which can then be assigned to Stakeholders.

Responsibilities can be managed using Responsibility Management that is accessible by clicking the Responsibility Management button in the side menu of Project Maintenance.

How should they be used?

Usage of Responsibilities within Project on Demand is as follows:

Project Management Process Step Action within Project on Demand
1 Identify and record the Responsibilities that are required for each defined project Role. Create Responsibilities.
Assign Responsibilities to Stakeholders via Project Roles:
2 Assign Responsibilities to Project Roles. Assign Responsibilities to Project Roles.
3 Assign Project Roles to Stakeholders. Assign Project Roles to Stakeholders.

Responsibility Properties

Name Description Possible Values
Description Full description of the Responsibility. Text.

Managing

Responsibility Management can be used to Create, Edit, Import and Remove Responsibilities.

The management child window can be accessed by clicking the Responsibility Management button in the side menu of Project Maintenance.

Responsibility displayed are sorted in ascending order by Description.

Creating a new Responsibility

Clicking on the New button will alter the displayed child window to include an area at the bottom so a new Responsibility can be recorded.

Once all properties are set the new Responsibility can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the new Responsibility can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of creating a new Responsibility the child window will revert back to it's normal state, a success message will display at the bottom of the child window and the newly created Responsibility will be selected in the DataGrid.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will revert back to it's normal state and nothing will be saved.

Editing a Responsibility

Selecting a Responsibility and clicking on the Edit button will alter the displayed child window to include an area at the bottom so the Responsibility can be edited. Alternatively the row can be double-clicked to perform the same action.

Once all necessary changes have been made the Responsibility can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the Responsibility can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of the editing process the child window will revert back to it's normal state and a success message will display at the bottom of the child window.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will revert back to it's normal state and any changes will be cancelled.

Removing a Responsibility

Selecting the Responsibility to remove and clicking on the Remove button will display a removal confirmation window. If Cancel is clicked the confirmation window will close and the Responsibility will not be removed. If Yes is clicked the selected Responsibility will be removed and a successful removal message will be displayed at the bottom of the child window.

Importing Responsibilities

Clicking the Import button will flip the child window to display Import Responsibilities.

In order to view and import Responsibilities from another Project, a Project must be selected from the "Import from Project" drop-down at the top. The drop-down is populated with any Projects that have Responsibilities identified.

Responsibilities that have been checked in the Import column of the DataGrid will be Imported once the Import button is clicked. The Check All feature can be used to check all displayed Responsibilities.

Upon successful import the child window will flip back around to display Responsibility Management, a success message will be displayed at the bottom of the child window and the last of the newly imported Responsibilities will be selected.