About Lessons Learned

What are Lessoned Learned?

Lessons Learned are either positive or negative aspects of the Project that we wish to replicate or avoid within other Projects. Project on Demand offers the ability to define Lessons that have been learned on the current Project and the ability to view Lessons from other Projects.

Lessons can be managed using Lessoned Learned Tool that is accessible by clicking the Lessons Learned button on the main menu or by clicking Open Tool through an associated Goal on the Phase Progression.

Note: Accessing the Lessoned Learned Tool through an associated Goal on the Phase Progression will automatically set that Goal's Status to In Progress if it is currently in a Status of Not Started.

How should they be used?

The Lessoned Learned management process within Project on Demand is as follows:

Project Process Step Action within Project on Demand
Within each Phase of the Project:
1 Identify and record any Lessons that have been learned on the current Project. Create new Lessons.
2 Analyse Lessons and perform any categorisation necessary to aid future analysis of Lessons. Set the Type on Lessons.
3 Perform an impact assessment on the Lessons to evaluate their Impact on the Project. Set the Impact on Lessons.
4 Review any Lessons Learned from other Projects. View Lessons on other Projects.

Lesson Properties

Name Description Possible Values
ID Unique Lesson reference number. Number - Generated by the application.
Title Title of the Lesson. Text.
Description Full description of the Lesson. Text.
Lesson Recommended action to be taken. Text.
Raised By The person who raised the lesson. User with Project access or text.
Phase Phase where Lesson was identified. Start Up, Initiation, Planning, Design, Execution, or Closure.
Type Used to broadly define negative or positive Lessons. Positive or Negative.
Impact The estimated impact upon the Project. Very Low, Low, Medium, High or Very High.

Managing

The Lessons Learned Tool is split into 2 tabs. The first tab can be used to Create, Edit and Remove Lessons that have been learned on the current Project and the other can be used to View Lessons from other Projects.

Lesson displayed are sorted in ascending order by ID and paged to 20 items per page.

Creating a new Lesson

Clicking on the New button will display a child window so a new Lesson can be recorded.

The Raised By property of a Lesson can be set to reference a User or text. If a User is selected from the drop-down any previously entered text will be removed and vice versa.

Once all properties are set the new Lesson can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the new Lesson can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of creating a new Lesson the child window will close, a success message will display at the bottom of the application and the newly created Lesson will be selected in the DataGrid.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will close and nothing will be saved.

Editing a Lesson

Selecting a Lesson and clicking on the Edit button will display a child window so the Lesson can be edited. Alternatively the row can be double-clicked to perform the same action.

The Raised By property of a Lesson can be set to reference a User or text. If a User is selected from the drop-down any previously entered text will be removed and vice versa.

Once all necessary changes have been made the Lesson can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the Lesson can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of the editing process the child window will close and a success message will display at the bottom of the application.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will close and any changes will be cancelled.

Removing a Lesson

Selecting the Lesson to remove and clicking on the Remove button will display a removal confirmation window. If Cancel is clicked the confirmation window will close and the Lesson will not be removed. If Yes is clicked the selected Lesson will be removed and a successful removal message will be displayed at the bottom of the application.

If the last Lesson on a page is removed the DataGrid will navigate to the previous page upon successful removal.

View Lessons from other Projects

Lessons from other Projects can be seen on the second tab.

In order to view Lessons from another Project, a Project must be selected from the "Review Lessons from Project" drop-down at the top. The drop-down is populated with any Projects that have Lessons defined.

Concurrency Control

Lessons implement pessimistic concurrency control.