Managing Assumptions

Creating a new Assumption

Clicking on the New button will display a child window so a new Assumption can be recorded.

The only Assumption properties that are not required to be entered are Validation Date, Implications and Owner; these can be left empty/blank and changed later if required.

The Identified By and Owner properties of a Assumption reference a User or text. If a User is selected from the drop-down any previously entered text will be removed and vice versa. Both the selected User and the text field can be cleared simultaneously by clicking the button on the same line.

Once all the required properties are set the new Assumption can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the new Assumption can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of creating a new Assumption the child window will close, a success message will display at the bottom of the application and the newly created Assumption will be selected in the DataGrid.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will close and nothing will be saved.

Editing a Assumption

Selecting a Assumption and clicking on the Edit button will display a child window so the Assumption can be edited. Alternatively the row can be double-clicked to perform the same action - Please note: this is the only way to edit a Assumption on the Project Dashboard.

The only Assumption properties that are not required to be entered are Validation Date, Implications and Owner; these can be left empty/blank and changed later if required.

The Identified By and Owner properties of a Assumption reference a User or text. If a User is selected from the drop-down any previously entered text will be removed and vice versa. Both the selected User and the text field can be cleared simultaneously by clicking the button on the same line.

Once all necessary changes have been made the Assumption can be saved by clicking the Save button at the bottom of the child window. If any validation errors are encountered they will display at the bottom of the child window and must be rectified before the Assumption can be successfully saved.

Upon successful completion of the editing process the child window will close and a success message will display at the bottom of the application.

If the Cancel button is clicked, the child window will close, any changes will be cancelled and nothing will be saved.

Removing a Assumption

Selecting the Assumption to remove and clicking on the Remove button will display a removal confirmation window. If Cancel is clicked the confirmation window will close and the Assumption will not be removed. If Yes is clicked the selected Assumption will be removed and a successful removal message will be displayed at the bottom of the application.

If the last Assumption on a page is removed the DataGrid will navigate to the previous page upon successful removal.